Vegan plenny shake sports?

Hi all,

I am new to plenny shakes. I have been having one or two plenny vegan shakes a day (for breakfast and lunch) for two weeks now. So far, so good! I am also pleasently surprised at the level of the commuinity forum. Very smart people discussing interesting nutritional issues in well-informed manner.

I am vegan and I like doing sports and go to a very demanding gym (where we train very intensely). I first want to try and see if the vegan plenny shake is enough for a high-intensity training schedule. In case I feel low on energy, or in case I see the recovery time gets longer, I have considered trying the sports version. However, I noticed the sports version contains whey protein, which contains milk and that is, therefore, not vegan.

Are there plans to make a vegan version of the plenny shake sport?

I don’t know about the plans but the sport version isn’t that much different from what I’ve gathered.
The addition of creatine monohydrate, beta-alanine, Acetyl L-carnitine, glucosamine sulphate for sure is nice but until they make a vegan sport I personally just add creatine myself.

What makes you interested in the sport version? (I’m still a bit on the fence)

Hi Lerkes,

Thanks for the explanation. I feel I have a good performance in high-intensity sports as a vegan, but it seems to me the muscular recovery takes longer. I thought creatine could have something to do with it, as muscular creatine is known to be lower on vegetarians (and I guess even lower on vegans). However, I have read it can increase body/muscle mass, and I don’t want to grow too much muscle. Also, some studies show there is no difference in creatine supplementation between meat eaters and vegeterian/vegans, which would mean I shouldn’t particularly need it…

Thanks for the link I did not know that!

In my experience in the gym training in the 8-12 rep range it adds about 1-2 reps per session per exercise for me which is great.