About Palm Oil in Twenny Bars

Hi everyone,
I’m a long time Jimmy Joy user, and I have recently moved to Twenny Bars since they are so convenient. They are great, but I have a couple of concerns about the palm oil they carry.

1. Why palm oil? They have coconut oil too, why keep the palm oil then?
  2. Is the palm oil heated during the manufacturing process? If so, to what temperature?

There are health concerns related to palm oil. Saturated fatty acids are not the best [1], and palm oil has a lot palmitic acid which seems to be particularly bad. Repeatedly heated palm oils seems to worsen the effects [2]. Also, the EFSA has found contaminants in the palm oil [3] and in other vegetable oils due to the processing they endure.

[1][2][3] I’m not allow to post more than 2 links in 1 post since I’m a new forum user. You can find the links to the scientific studies here: https://pastebin.com/1MhzWxna

I’m not an expert by any means, but it looks like there is reason to worry about this oil. I think coconut oil is healthier, but I may be completely wrong about that.

Thanks.

3 Likes

I’m also interested in this issue, I’m going to make a large order and I’m not sure if is healthier to order JimmyDust or TwennyBars.

Thanks for the feedback! We’re working on improving our bars, which means we’re going to ditch the palm oil in the new formula just like we did with our Vanilla bars. They don’t contain palm oil anymore, as you can see overhere: https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/jimmyjoy/app/public/ckeditor_assets/attachments/119/vanilla_twennybar.pdf.

1 Like

That’s very interesting. I’ll wait until you release these new bars before buying the chocolate and banana bars.
I see that you’ve switched to rapeseed oil, and ditched the palm oil, it looks like a healthier choice.

1 Like