Why soy protein isolate?

Hello!

I have been using Plenny Shake active as my main food source for two months now (two meals/ 4 scoops a day and one “regular” meal). And although I feel quite nice about it, and are working towards my goal of a toned body, I am a bit concerned about Soy Protein Isolate. I am a biochemical engineer, so I now a thing or two about nutrition. There are extensive research about soy, and it is generally considered to be healthy, but we can’t really say this applies to soy protein isolate, which is a highly processed form. It is written in FAQ that Jimmy Joy products use non-GMO soy but I am still concerned about the cancer risk related to moderate to heavy SPI consumption. I know the team loves science of nutrition, so is it possible to give some exemplary research indicating that two meals of SPI is not a risk factor? I would love to keep drinking Plenny Shake Active with ease of mind. Thank you!

1 Like

Hi @ipekg ! welcome to the forum :heart_hands:
It’s great to hear that you’ve been using Plenny Shake Active as your main food and that it helps you towards your fitness goals.

The association between cancer and soy stems from the fact that soy contains isoflavones, which are a form of phytoestrogen. Studies have shown that there is a correlation between breast cancer and high levels of the human hormone estrogen. But, the phytoestrogens in soy are way weaker than human estrogen, meaning that they do not have the same effect on our bodies. Some doctors might suggest women with a family history of estrogen-sensitive breast cancer shouldn’t take soy supplements until there are more clinical studies on the matter (if this is your case, please consult with your doctor). However, it’s important to remember that there’s no evidence that soy or isoflavones actually increase the risk of cancer or have negative effects on people with cancer. Moreover, isoflavones supplements are used due to their antioxidant effect and even anti-cancer effects