Difference between 3.5 scoops and 173g

Hi there!

I’m new to jimmyjoy-plennyshake, having switched from Huel. jimmyjoy-plennyshake tastes so much better and I’m loving the flavours. I have an observation which I haven’t yet found on the forum, and I think it’s important for those who want to be aware of the calories they consume.

The serving suggestion is 3.5 scoops, or 173g. However, 3 scoops normally weighs c.120g, so each scoop is about 40g. Therefore, you’d need just over 4.25 scoops to hit 173g and get the full serving.

I’m doing each scoop kind of level, maybe heaped a little bit, but it’s by no stretch a mountain of powder. Maybe jimmyjoy-plennyshake could stress a portion size in terms of level scoops? One runs the risk of dangerously undereating on 3.5 scoops, or else finding jimmyjoy-plennyshake a lot less filling than it actually is!

Hope this can be of help to people!

Kitty

I have had similar experiences. Seeing as how the substance is such a light powder, you get the same problem as with flour when baking, which is that measuring by volume is not very accurate. I usually measure my meals with a kitchen scale, which works great. It also allows me to add a little water or coffee to the bottom of the shaker bottle before I add the powder and fill up with the rest of the water afterwards, which helps a lot with preventing clumps from sticking to the bottom and not getting mixed in properly when shaking.

If you don’t have kitchen scales I really suggest getting one, they can be real cheap and most of them are accurate enough for these purposes even the cheapest models.

Cheers!

3 Likes

Might it be the case that putting certain pressure on the powder can somehow compress it when you scoop it up? If so, then there could be some difference in weight depending on the pressure you apply on the powder when you scoop it.